CircleCI Ideas

Allow delete old builds and workflows

Request

There have been number of requests to allow cleaning old builds, to list a few:

 

Those threads have been closed automatically due to lack of updates (or discussion cleaning following the CircleCI 2.0 release). However, this feature has not been implemented or is not available, so I'd like to re-store the request here.

Motivation

First, this is a desired feature especially for teams using topic branches heavily (eg. w/ GitFlow, etc.).

Second, despite mentioned challenges to implement such feature, there seem to be agreement from CircleCI team members about validity of the request.

Finally, the backlog of comments to the linked threads suggests there is a demand for it from CircleCI users.

  • Avatar32.5fb70cce7410889e661286fd7f1897de Guest
  • Jun 29 2018
  • Taking votes
  • Attach files
  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    21 Mar 21:33

    Adding to this, there may be cases where certain information is printed especially for public repositories that should be concealed. Being able to delete or limit access to those particular workflows or builds would make less a thing to worry about.

  • Avatar40.8f183f721a2c86cd98fddbbe6dc46ec9
    Guest commented
    27 Mar 11:56

    There seems to be a bug where if you merge the PR while some task are running the circleci build will remain there even if there are no longer any related PR. As an administrator I should be allow to clean my dashboard without having to recreate the user branch. I'm not sure what are the challenge, if github can send a webhook when the build is removed, it should be just as simple as exposing the webhook to the dashboard.